only search Local 138


St Clair College - Faculty Union





  • The Faculty collective agreement expires September 30th, 2017
  • Faculty members want improved academic decision-making through collegial governance and academic freedom, create fairness in how partial-load and contract faculty are treated, and support the success of students.
  • Bargaining with management started the first of July
  • To date, negotiations are not going well
  • The Faculty bargaining team has applied for a conciliator
  • The Faculty bargaining team has applied to the OLRB to conduct a strike vote for mid-September
  • August 8 - Management presented an offer to the membership that falls in line with public sector extension settlements
  • Both parties will be meeting during the third week of August
  • August 17 - Management sent out a communique to members with supporting arguments to their offer made on August 8
  • The bargaining team and Local Presidents do not support management's offer as it does not support any of our demands
  • A Strike vote will take place on September 14th
  • For up-to-date information, see:



OPSEU's campaign to unionize part time faculty invites part time faculty and continuing education faculty to sign up.

The sign up process will maintain your anonymity.

If you have questions, please contact Local 138 Steward, Jim Rutherford who is heading up the campaign at St Clair

Office: Room 221 A, Main Campus

Ph: 519 972 2727 ext 4806

Private contact info:

Email: Ph: 519-715-9048

For more information and to sign up online see:

Part time Faculty unionization - VOTE - (Posted 8-7-17)

OPSEU has applied to conduct a vote for the unionization of Part time Faculty on October 2nd. More information to follow as the date nears.

Bullying and Harassment Concerns- (Posted 2/3/16)

There have been some concerns in the past with students who have allegedly violated college policies including bullying and harassment towards Faculty.   When the behavior of a student is threatening, Faculty should ask the student to leave.   If the Student refuses to leave, Faculty are encouraged to call security.  This procedure applies in the classroom as well in the College at large.  Faculty should and are in fact encouraged by the Union and the College to report the incident to their Chair who will discuss appropriate action.   In the event that Faculty do not receive satisfactory action by the Chair, Faculty are entitled to file a formal complaint through the Campus Hearing Officer located in HR - currently Beth Pirouet.  The policies for the complaint process are "Code of Student Rights and Responsibilities" (matters with students) and the "Respectful Work and Educational Place Policy" (matters with staff).   Faculty should notify their Steward (Local) of any incidents whereby student behaviour is perceived to be threatening.  Do not assume by filing a complaint with the Chair or Campus Hearing Officer that the Local will be aware of the concern.   Your Local is willing to support you and defend your position, however they must be aware of the concern.  While the College has specific policies to address matters of concern regarding threatening behaviour and these policies are encouraged, note that under Ontario's Health and Occupation Safety act, workers have the right to refuse work if they have a reason to believe they are in danger from workplace violence.


  • Contact Us
  • About Us
  • Privacy
  • © Local 138
Local 138 - St Clair College, 2000 Talbot Rd West, Windsor Ont N9A 6S4 | Union Office room 117 | Ph: 519-972-2727 x4690 |
Local 138 is a non-profit organization supporting its members rights and entitlements
Local 138 repects its members rights to confidentiality
All rights reserved


web counter